Ҿ˹˹ѧ
PDF
ePub

justified the expectation formed at the time of his appointment to the directorship last year. He very properly emphasizes the note of service to the public schools, which the Summer Session was instituted to rei er, and the note of quality in the work done, which, though difficult to maintain, is essential to the vitality of a school in the summer holidays.

THE LIBRARY.

The University possessed on June 30th last, 326,085 volumes and 49,500 pamphlets. All the pamphlets and 284,157 volumes were housed in the spacious building erected for the general library by the late Henry W. Sage. The accessions during the year 1905-1906 aggregated 12,957 volumes and 1,500 pamphlets, of which 10,719 volumes and all the pamphlets are in the general library. Of those 10,719 volumes, 3,401 were gifts. In the list of gifts in the Librarian's report (Appendix XV), the first two are the following : “from the estate of Heber R. Bishop, the magnificent privately printed work entitled, Investigations and Studies in Jade, describing and illustrating the Bishop collection in the Metropolitan Museum ; from Mrs. Dean Sage her husband's sumptuous work, The Restigouche and its Salmon Fishing, and the privately printed catalogue of his rich collection of books on angling." Besides individuals, the national and state governments, Chicago, New York, and other cities, and the English, Canadian and Australian patent offices have contributed public documents and other publications. As usual, nearly all the purchases have been made from the income of the Sage Endowment Fund of $300,000.

The Library has been open 307 days and 158 evenings during the year. The record of books used in the reading room (79,258) shows an increase of 10 per cent over last

year, and there is also an increase in the use of seminary and laboratory collections, but the number of volumes drawn for home use declined from 21,762 in 1904-1905 to 20,726 in 1905-1906. There can, of course, be no record of the use of the thousands of books on the open shelves in the reading room. Unfortunately 181 were reported missing at the close of the regular inspection this year. There were also missing 130 of the 13,798 volumes deposited outside the library as laboratory and departmental collections. Since the appointment of a curator of the shelves the misplacement of books in the library stacks has been greatly reduced.

On the recommendation of the University Faculty the Trustees extended to juniors the privileges now enjoyed by seniors of taking books out of the Library for home use and also authorized the establishment of a subsidiary circulating library on open shelves for the encouragement of the reading habit and the promotion of the general culture of the whole student body. Appropriations for the circulating library and for equipping the reading room in Goldwin Smith Hall have been recommended to the Board by the library council.

The executors of the estate of the late Willard Fiske have paid over to Cornell University $413,531, and a considerable sum still remains in their hands for payment on a final settlement. Apart from certain annuities, of which all terminate in a few years except one for $2,200 that runs for a life-time, the income of this fund is available for the general purposes of the Library, with the qualification that the income of $61,000 is to be used for the maintenance of certain special collections of books.

OTHER INSTITUTIONS

The pulpit of Sage Chapel continues to be a potent agency in the education of the students of Cornell University. It is occupied Sunday after Sunday by the most eminent preachers of the country, irrespective of denomination, among whom in 1905-1906 were included the Rev. Dr. Lyman Abbott of New York City, the Rev. Dr. Henry van Dyke of Princeton, the Rev. Hugh Black of Edinburgh, President Charles Cuthbert Hall of the Union Theological Seminary, New York City, Bishop W. F. McDowell of Chicago, the Rev. Dr. Edward Judson of New York City, the Rev. Dr. Newell Dwight Hillis of Brooklyn, the Rev. Arthur H. Smith, former missionary to China, Bishop Courtney of New York City, the Rev. Dr. Philip S. Moxom of Hartford, Connecticut, the Rev. Robert Collyer of New York City, and the Rev. Dr. James Moffat of Ayrshire, Scotland. Some of the preachers occupied the pulpit two Sundays in succession, though the majority remained for one Sunday only. The congregations were almost always good ; some students attending the morning service, others the afternoon service (which is predominantly musical,) and others one or both of these services as well as the Christian Association evening meeting in Barnes Hall. Of course, in the University, as outside, there are young men and women who seldom or never attend any church ; but it would be difficult to devise stronger appeals to them than the beautiful and impressive services regularly held in Sage Chapel. And the President is confident that these services have contributed towards producing in the University community a tone of profound reverence, which, be it observed, is entirely compatible with the utmost freedom of thought, inquiry, and utterance. The Chapel, built by Henry W. Sage, with the pulpit endowed by his son, Dean Sage, is perhaps the most vital, as it is certainly the highest, educational agency at Cornell University.

The Infirmary, which the University owes to the gen

women.

erosity of Dean Sage and Williain H. Sage, is devoted to the care of sick students. From the opening of the University in September to commencement in June, 367 patients were admitted (as against 387 in 1904-1905). Of these patients 32 were

The average daily number of patients was 7.28 and the maximum 16 (as against 21 in 1904-1905). The total number of days for which beds were occupied was 1,996. The most frequent ailments were tonsilitis, grippe, bronchitis, and appendicitis. There were four cases of typhoid fever and five of pneumonia. The largest single category is injuries, of which 41 were treated. What blessings the Infirmary has brought to the students of the University is realized vividly by those who enjoy its soothing and healing ministrations and by their parents and friends in far-off homes as well as by the authorities of the University, who rejoice in the perfect solution of one of their most difficult problems.

BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

The year 1905-1906 has seen the culmination, if not the completion, of an era of extensive material construction and reconstruction. Of course the most important and memorable features were the completion and dedication of the Rockefeller Hall of Physics and the Goldwin Smith Hall for the Arts departments, in which with the begipping of the year 1906-1907 those divisions of the University will henceforth be housed. The great structures for the State College of Agriculture are still unfinished, though it will be practicable to occupy the dairy building in the fall of 1906. The new building for the light and power plant is now not only finished but completely equipped. The new Carnegie filtration plant and reservoir have made adequate and safe provision for the water supply of the University and the heating station is in course of enlargement and equipment with additional boilers. At the same time extensive alterations have been made in Franklin Hall, White Hall, and Lincoln Hall to adapt them to the needs of the departments of electrical engineering, architecture, and civil engineering, which respectively have been assigned to those Halls, and McGraw Hall, emptied of the museum of casts, is still to be altered to meet the needs of the department of geology. Some changes have also been made on the first floor of Morrill Hall to furnish ampler accommodations to the offices of administration, especially the treasurer's; and, when the rooms now occupied by the professors of agriculture are vacated, further alterations will be necessary for the accommodation of the office of the registrar. Altogether it has been a time of extraordinary activity in the construction of new buildings and the alteration of old ones. And for the latter the drain has fallen entirely on the University treasury.

The grounds have, like the buildings, been undergoing extensive and manifold development. Central avenue and • East avenue have been paralleled by new and well-made avenues-Garden avenue on the east and Stewart and West avenues on the west ; and Stewart avenue has been completely planted with trees, shrubs, and flowers, and West avenue partially, while on Garden the planting has not yet been begun nor is likely to be till the completion of the buildings of the State College of Agriculture. During the past year the work of grading around the new buildings and adjusting the neighboring parts of the campus to the changed conditions has been pushed energetically and with successful results. The completion of the stone quadrangle by the erection of Goldwin Smith Hall has made changes desirable in the pre-existing plan of roads and walks. The prolongation of Reservoir avenue across the quadrangle from East avenue to Central avenue has been cut off, and

« ͹˹Թõ
 »