Ҿ˹˹ѧ
PDF
ePub

APPENDIX X

REPORT OF THE PROFESSOR IN CHARGE OF THE

COLLEGE OF CIVIL ENGINEERING.

To the President of the University :

SIR:- I have the honor to submit the following report for the College of Civil Engineering for the year 1905-06.

The work for the year has been extremely satisfactory, and it has been enjoyed by both faculty and students. This has been due in a large measure to the increase in the instructing force which has allowed of smaller sections and more thorough work. The inconvenience due to cramped quarters has not been felt as much as heretofore on account of the relief due to moving the hydraulic laboratory to the building in Fall Creek Gorge and to the use of class rooms in other buildings scattered all over the campus wherever available. The fact that relief would probably be provided for next year has also had its effect in making the present crowded condition more endurable.

The registration for the year, as shown by the class roll calls, has been as follows, classifying according to subjects taken rather than by official standing as in the register:

First Term Second Term Graduates

15

14 Seniors

58

54 Juniors

103

98 Sophomores

91

89 Freshmen

161

142 Special Students..

4

4

Total..

432

401

This list includes 27 graduates in the undergraduate courses. Of the new students, 12 entered the sophomore, 5 the junior, and 2 the senior class.

Instruction has also been given to students from other colleges as follows:

First Term Second Term Sibley

501

495 Architecture

70 Arts ---

31 Agriculture

5 Graduates

10

30

I

2

[ocr errors]

Total

608

537 This shows a healthy growth from last year, the registration then being 375 for the first term and 357 for the second.

If provision is made in White and Franklin Halls for the College of Architecture, as has been planned, the College of Civil Engineering can be made fairly comfortable for a few years in Lincoln Hall by refitting the building so as to adapt it to the changed conditions.

Furniture and blackboards will be required in converting the architects' rooms into class rooms, while some partitions will have to be removed. Skylights will be needed in their third floor drafting rooms in order to render the entire space available for the larger classes.

Changes in the museum will be necessary in doing away with the temporary class room and providing for a field instrument room and an enlarged periodical and student waiting room.

In the basement a general rearrangement will be necessary in order to provide suitably for the laboratories.

Room 10, the lecture room at the north end of the building, will be needed for laboratory uses. This will leave the College without a large class room until the proposed extension of the north wing is constructed. Meanwhile Sibley College has offered to share with us the physical lecture room in Franklin Hall, if fortunate enough to secure the building for the Department of Electrical Engineering.

A good beginning has been made towards fitting up the new hy. draulic laboratory building in the Fall Creek gorge. The hydraulic equipment in Lincoln Hall has been moved over and installed and the building has been heated during the winter. It is believed that with the appropriation made last fall for the purpose, the roof can be concreted and water from the cliff excluded from the working rooms. Concrete floors should be built throughout and arranged for the protection of the steel I-beams supporting the present floors, as these beams are rusting badly. Considerable apparatus is still necessary to render the laboratory convenient for regular work. In order to make suitable provision for thesis work and special investigations the apparatus and arrangements for the ground floor should be entirely remodeled.

Interest is still maintained in the establishment of the course in Mining. The number of students taking the elective course this year was 24 the first term and 15 the second. Some of these men will go to other institutions to complete their course ; others will probably take up mining practice without further preparation, as has been done by our graduates in the past.

With an ore-dressing laboratory our material equipment would be sufficient for them to complete their preparation here as provided for in the course in Mining recommended for adoption by the faculty two years ago.

After studying the equipment at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the Michigan School of Mines and elsewhere, and consulting with the professors carrying on the work, Professor McCaustland estimates that $3,000 would be ample for the equipment of an ore-dressing laboratory as good if not better for the purposes of instruction than any in this country.

The resignation of Professor William E. Mott to accept a call from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, his Alma Mater, should be noted.

He came to the college in 1892 as an instructor at a time when it was only a department with 126 students. He was promoted to an assistant professorship in 1901 and given a leave of absence for the year 1903-4 for study in Europe. Always genial, conscientious and scholarly in his work, he has contributed his full share towards the development of the college. The good wishes of his colleagues follow him to the new field of labor.

His special work has been taken up by Mr. F. J. Seery, a graduate of Tuft's College, who has had a large practical experience along the lines of hydraulic construction and water supply.

Professor Ogden has a leave of absence for the second term of the year to take up engineering practice and to study sewage disposal plants. His work in descriptive geometry is being looked after by Mr. M. A. Pond, and his work in sanitary engineering by Mr. Seery.

Respectfully submitted,

C. L. CRANDALL,

Professor in Charge of the College of Civil Engineering.

APPENDIX XI

REPORT OF THE DIRECTOR OF THE SIBLEY COLLEGE OF

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND MECHANIC ARTS

To the President of the University:

Sir:-I have the honor to submit the following report for Sibley College for the year 1905-06. The report deals with changes and growth and therefore represents only a small part of the work of the College. It is considered unnecessary to report on things that have been carried on regularly as heretofore.

MACHINE DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION

An important change of the past year is the combination under one head, of the Departments of Machine Design and Machine Construction. The need for the closest cooperation between these Departments made it seem wise to make this combination, and the experience of the year has justified the change. In the shops the changes outlined in last year's report have been carried farther. A number of machine tools that have in the natural growth of the art become obsolete, have been disposed of and tools of the most modern design and construction have been introduced in their stead. This is true both of the wood-shop and the machine-shop.

The cramped quarters of the foundry and blacksmith shop have been increased by simply removing partitions from the middle of the building. This space was hitherto used for storage and locker rooms. The lockers in the basement of the main building are now used and both the blacksmith shop and foundry space are increased so as to be adequate for present needs. In the blacksmith shop a number of forges have been added to the equipment and the blast system has been remodeled. The drop hammer, presented last year by Mr. Wesson of the firm of Smith & Wesson, has been erected ready for use. Minor changes that have increased the effectiveness of the foundry have also been made.

In the machine shop a time clock system has been introduced which is used by the students in exactly the same way as by workmen in a manufactory. The students' time is kept in this way, though that is not the prime object of its introduction; its real use being to familiarize the students who are going into the engineering world with time recording systems.

DEPARTMENT OF EXPERIMENTAL ENGINEERING The work in Experimental Electrical Engineering which was begun in Sibley College last year, has been amplified and increased in effectiveness. A generous appropriation has made it possible to increase the equipment of this department very materially during the past year,

The Mechanical Laboratory is the one department in Sibley College that will be seriously crowded next year. This crowding could, of course, be prevented in the future by the erection of a large separate building for the accommodation of the work. If this building were to become one of the important units of the Campus group it would necessarily be an expensive one to harmonize with the others. It is believed that the increased accommodation could be provided at a far less expense by the erection of a shop building in an inconspicuous location, which would accommodate the machine-shop and woodshop. This would make the present quarters of these shops available for the use of the Mechanical Laboratory. This seems to be a logical arrangement since the space described lies adjacent to the boiler house which supplies steam for experimental work, and also since the triple expansion engine is located on expensive foundations in this space. It is hoped that money may be provided in the near future for this shop building.

FRANKLIN HALL The assignment of the basement and two lower floors of Franklin Hall to Sibley College, gives the Department of Electrical Engineer

« ͹˹Թõ
 »